Getting Started on the Hallway of Doom

2 Oct

Welcome to our first post in our series.

31 Days of Anti-Procrastination

This is exactly what the title says it is.

10-1-13-Pic-1

With Halloween coming up, I’m simply going to dress as my hallway.  That should be enough to scare all the little children, including my own!

Now, I may ask myself, well, how did I get here?  I’ve been just letting the days go by, let the water hold me down and I may tell myself, this is not my beautiful house!  But, enough Talking Heads, I’m tired of this hallway being the same as it ever was!

But this blog post isn’t about how all this crap got here, it’s about how to stop procrastinating and make it a safe passageway for my family to walk through.

A Journey Of A Thousand Miles Begins With A Single Step

- Lao-tzu

Today I’m sharing with you 3 resources that I’m using to get over my procrastinating ways and get started on this dastardly project.

Number One:  A long, long, long time ago I started being a FlyBaby.  For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, I’d like to introduce you to a very important person, my mentor every time I fall of the wagon, the wind between my dirty wings that haven’t been washed in a week, FlyLady.

10-1-13-Pic-2

I became a member of FlyLady’s listserv back when she had less than 5 figures of followers.  I was fascinated by this woman who taught me “You can do anything for 15 minutes” and explained that I had C.H.A.O.S. in my home (Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome).  When I get into a bind (or lose myself under a pile of junk) I will set a timer for 15 minutes and revert back to my FlyBaby ways.  And that’s just how I’m gonna start this project in the hallway.  Tonight I set a timer for 15 minutes and I sorted through one of the stacks of papers.  I put away the office supplies, threw away the trash and filed everything else.

10-1-13-Pic-3

I’ll be doing a 15 minute mission on this hallway every day during these 31 days.  It will be really interesting to see where this hallway winds up!  Next we’re moving on to the next source of inspiration to help you get off your butt and procrastinate no more!

Number Two:  The Slight Edge

10-1-13-Pic-4

The Slight Edge is a book written by Jeff Olson.  The premise is simple,  The little things you do everyday, when chosen correctly, give you a slight edge towards achieving your goals.  For example, I’m going to post on this blog every day for 31 days.  It’s not much to do every day.  Actually, this post today is only taking about a half hour.  Now, we all know that one lonesome 30 minute post isn’t going to make that much of a difference in this blog either.  However, I can gain a ‘slight edge’ by spending 30 minutes every day writing a post.  At the end of these 30 days I’ll have written a small book!  Plus, I’ll probably have a few more readers.  And that’s the Slight Edge philosophy.  Purposefully planning your small daily actions to make a big difference in your life over time.  Jeff likes to explain it like this:  If you were to read only 10 pages of a self improvement book everyday, by the end of the year you would have read 3650 pages or the equivalent of roughly 15 books.  That’s a lot of knowledge that could make a big difference in your life

Number Three:  Call on your higher power.

Yes folks.  Pray to God that you can get up off that couch and start something.  Confess your slothfulness (is that a word) and tell Him about your desire to change.  He will surely answer you and show you the way.  Tonight I pulled the bible from my wedding off the mantle and found a couple quotes to help motivate you.

The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied. – Proverbs 12:24

He dies for lack of discipline, and because of his great folly he is led astray – Proverbs 5:23

Thank you for joining me today!  Tomorrow’s post will be about “Expediting the Expedit”.  Don’t miss it!

I have not been compensated by FlyLady, Jeff Olson nor God for writing this post, though I think the first two would be pleased to know who they were sharing company with.

All of our 31 Days of Anti-Procrastination posts:

Day 1:  Getting Started on the Hallway of Doom

How we plan to tackle our really disgustingly messy hallway, that looks like a storage unit!  Warning – the pictures are not for the faint of heart!  Procrastination lesson – One Day At A Time.

Day 2: Expediting the Expedit

A trip to Ikea, and then how we finished off our large 5 x 5 Expedit Shelving Unit!  Procrastination lesson – Finding the Time to Stop Procrastinating.

Day 3: Wibbly Wobbly Timey…TV

How I changed my mind, over and over and over again.  Procrastination lesson – It Doesn’t Have to be Perfect.

Day 4:  The Taming of the Cords

We have way too many cords.  Here’s what we did with them.  Procrastination lesson – Organization helps Procrastination.

Day 5:  The Thrift Shop Shimmie – Part 1

What we found at the thrift store, and what we immediately did with it.  Procrastination lesson – Stop Procrastinating Before You Even Start.

Day 6:  The Thrift Shop Shimmie – Part 2

Finishing our thrift store project.  Procrastination lesson – Whatever It Takes.

Day 7:  Interrupting Our Regularly Scheduled Post…

What happened when I procrastinated on my health.  Procrastination lesson – Don’t Just Think Your Health is Okay – Check and Make Sure Your Health is Okay!

Day 8:  I Like to Move It, Move It

Moving things around in our home.  Procrastination lesson – Using Feng Shui to Stop Procrastinating and Start Doing!

2 Responses to “Getting Started on the Hallway of Doom”

  1. jerralea October 2, 2013 at 11:14 am #

    Good for you! I’m also a FlyBaby and I use the 15 minute timed intervals to get stuff done all the time. You go, girl!

    I also love that you found scripture to encourage you!

    • Kristin Elizabeth October 2, 2013 at 10:59 pm #

      Welcome FlyBaby! Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

